Defects of Vision and their Correction

There are four types of defect of the Eye: Myopia, Hypermetropia,Presbyopia and Astigmatism.  Below are given the nature of the defect, its causes and corrective measures:-

Myopia:

Nearsightedness, also called myopia is common name for impaired vision in which a person sees near objects clearly while distant objects appear blurred.  In such a defective eye, the image of a distant object is formed in front of the retina and not at the retina itself. Consequently, a nearsighted person cannot focus clearly on an object farther away than the far point for the defective eye.

Causes:

This defect arises because the power of the eye is too great due to the decrease in focal length of the crystalline lens. This may arise due to either

(i)                   excessive curvature of the cornea, or

(ii)                  elongation of the eyeball.

Correction :-

This defect can be corrected by using a concave (diverging) lens. A concave lens of appropriate power or focal length is able to bring the image of the object back on the retina itself.

Method for calculating the power of the corrective lens: -

For calculating the required power of a corrective lens, we first find the power of the eye at its far point. Then, we select a corrective lens of appropriate power to move the far point to infinity. We then use the thin lens formula , written in terms of power P of the lens as

The image distance v of the eye can be taken as 0.02 m approximately.

Hypermetropia:

Farsightedness, also called hypermetropia, common name for a defect in vision in which a person sees near objects with blurred vision, while distant objects appear in sharp focus. In this case, the image is formed behind the retina.

Causes:

This defect arises because either

(i)                   the focal length of the eyelens is too great, or

(ii)                  the eyeball becomes too short, so that light rays from the nearby object, say at point N, cannot be brought to focus on the retina to give a distinct image.

Correction:-

This defect can be corrected by using a convex (converging) lens of appropriate focal length. When the object is at N’, the eye exerts its maximum power of accommodation. Eyeglasses with converging lenses supply the additional focussing power required for forming the image on the retina.

Presbyopia:

Presbyopia, progressive form of farsightedness that affects most people by their early 60s.   The power of accommodation of the eye decreases with ageing. Most people find that the near point gradually recedes.

Cause and cure:

It arises due to the gradual weakening of the ciliary muscles and diminishing flexibility of the crystalline lens. Simple reading eyeglasses with convex lenses correct most cases of presbyopia. Sometimes, a person may suffer from both myopia and hypermetropia. Such people often require bi-focal lenses. In the bi-focal lens, the upper portion of the bi-focal lens is a concave lens, used for distant vision. The lower part of the bi-focal lens is a convex lens, used for reading purposes.

Astigmatism:

Astigmatism, a defect in the outer curvature on the surface of the eye that causes distorted vision.In astigmatism, a person cannot simultaneously focus on both horizontal and vertical lines.

Causes:

This defect is usually due to the cornea that is not perfectly spherical. Consequently, it has different curvatures in different directions in vertical and horizontal planes. This results in objects in one direction being well-focussed, while those in a perpendicular direction not wellfocussed.

Correction:-

This defect can be corrected by using eyeglasses with cylindrical lenses oriented to compensate for the irregularities in the cornea.

Powered by Qumana

111 responses to “Defects of Vision and their Correction

  1. IT’S a great way for children like me to learn!
    THANKS

  2. i find this sight very helpful in my science lesson :)

  3. i find this sight very helpful in my science lesson :)thank you for your help

  4. safe homboys wuu2 i is in science:):(

  5. wuu2 blud :)

  6. this site is really very good……..

  7. thanks this site helped me alpt

  8. Best you should edit the blog subject title Defects of Vision and their Correction Learn your science to more suited for your subject you write. I loved the post yet.

  9. it helps me in making the physics assignment.

  10. it help me to do science
    project

  11. u should add some photos or pictures to make it more easy to learn

  12. this site is very helpful but needs to also have some pictures!!!!!
    otherwise its very helpful!!!!

  13. I was very happy when I discorber the exact topic that our teacher give us to represent in MRCP. The only fault is lake of image,the image will ease the understanding vividly.thanks I realy appreciated the site and also advice my class-members to visit the site too.

  14. thanks I REALY HAPPY

  15. hey….very gus site to get reviesd by ur chapters

  16. shadrapizzare

    i found these info concise and complete, very interesting i must say

  17. shadrapizzare

    i found these information very helpful

  18. it is very much easy to understand, in short and sufficient way.

  19. thenga vincent

    being in the process of becoming a better teacher of biology i found this site better for research and has provided also healthy tips about eye protection

  20. Explicit,just needs diagrams.

  21. This topic has been written in a good and well organised manner

  22. diagraams would have been includedif not videos to make the explanation more practical; nevertheless the site remains helpfull

  23. thx a lot for the information,it helped me a lot in my science projects

  24. It a nice one, it helps me in my biology class

  25. This site is very hlpful to me..

  26. Its ok but more eye defect should be acquired like conjunctivitis

  27. Thanx ………..was very helpful…

  28. that is exelent

  29. One more defect of vision is cataract

  30. shahnazabdulrahman

    thankz a lot….

  31. I am short of words to comment for such a great job.

  32. THANKS,THIS HELP ME TO WRIGHT MY ASSIGNMENT

  33. THANK YOU SOOOOOOOO MUCH FOR HELPING ME TO WRITE MY ASSIGNMENT

  34. oh……………………………………….
    booooooooring

  35. thankssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss a lotttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

  36. its helped me in making my ppt thnx a lot :)

  37. thanks for helping me to do my project

  38. thanksssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
    a llllllllllllllllllooooooooooooooooooottttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt

  39. Thank u vry fr such a wndrful help….

  40. Thank u fr such a wndrful help…..

  41. well actually but naturally its a good topic to learn……….thanx for this\

  42. It gives very help to me! That’s great..!
    I liked it very much…………….!!!!:)

  43. thanks a lot

  44. All the info I need is here!thanks whoever ^^

  45. I really want to say thanks who uploaded it.May GOD show him or her the straight path.Ameen

  46. shivani gautam

    it helps me make physics project its osam

  47. it helps me a lot thanks a ton!!!! :)

  48. thank you 4 the brillant information
    i love it
    it helps a lot in my project work & to enrich my knowlegde
    :) :*

  49. can the problems be cu
    red

  50. tnx..;?

  51. I want to study more of this

  52. Thanks…buh I want to study more of this

  53. thanks. , :D

  54. Helped me in my School Assignment…. ThankSSSSSSSS AAAAA Lotttt !!!!

  55. Thank for the eye defect my Assignment was ok today, please update me !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  56. Diagram should be given to make it more ease

  57. This helps me for my physics project

  58. i realy love this…..it serves as superb a revision….

  59. please give the pictures

  60. One of several primary morals behind your Vision Without Glasses system is that
    your particular eye-sight might be remedied naturally, through a
    number of intensifying eyesight workout routines that improve the overall operation of your respective face.
    While modern day treatments largely concentrate on prescribing eyeglasses and make contact with lenses to boost your eyesight, Generate Bates considered this merely taken
    care of your indicator, along with dismissed the actual issue
    completely.

    While using Generate Bates group of physical exercises, you will end up immediately dealing with
    the situation, as opposed to the symptom. While you will require several dedication to check out this program for several months, there’s a superb opportunity that you’ll attain some very nice outcomes when you concentrate on the true problem at the rear of very poor
    eyesight.

  61. keep up

  62. It is really nice

  63. Tanx it rilly helped!

  64. Tanx it rilly helped.

  65. Kinda boring but it helps my H.W.

  66. what are the signs ecountered by an individual before going to see your doctor?

  67. thanks a lot

  68. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this
    topic to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang
    of it!

  69. nice!!!!!!!!!
    thanks for the info

  70. I am very happy to read this page………..

  71. katusiime Babrah

    thanx alot

  72. One of d best site on ground usefull in my biology

  73. nice website helpful in studying :)

  74. Can u tell me how i get sucess in science

  75. the information is so exited so keep me update in new info

  76. Erick Gamaliel Mgogo.

    Thank you very much for such interesting explanations. I wish that one day I will also provide such kind of technical explanations to the people of the World.

  77. thnx a lot!! helped me to a project!

  78. Whitney Harrison

    Wow …this realy helped me in doing my assignment….great!!

  79. ameer suhail neyyathur

    Very useful

  80. truely nice very helpful

  81. bhola kr sharma

    very helpful to understand defects of vision in simple manner….thanks.

  82. the diagrams are also need for clear explanation of the terms bat so nice

  83. provide related formulaes and digrams.

  84. thankx. i got my relieve through this site. you are blessed guys

  85. Am so glad to come across this site/application, it really help me to develop my lesson note for my students and also add to my previous knowledge.

    ”More grace to your elbow” the administrator.

    Thankx

  86. Thanks 4 this information

  87. Gud information….what abt colour blindness

  88. tankz 4 makin people aware of d cause nd d cntrol of eye defects

  89. amrutha gowda

    it was educative but expected pictures !!

  90. @patrick villa

    thank you sooooooooooo much!!!

Leave a Reply

